Professor David Bradley Invited to join the Board of Directors of the Jamaican Research Reactor Centre, ICENS

David Bradley, Head of the Centre for Applied Physics and Radiation Technologies at Sunway University, has recently been appointed to the Board of the International Centre for Environmental and Nuclear Sciences (ICENS), a Centre based in Jamaica. Appointment to the Board has been a result of a personal invitation from the Minister of Science, Technology and Energy of the Government of Jamaica, with David the sole Board member from outside of Jamaica.

In 1984 the Government of Jamaica and the University of the West Indies (UWI), supported by the donation of a SLOWPOKE research reactor from the European Union, established the Centre for Nuclear Sciences (CNS) on the Mona campus of the UWI. In particular, CNS was set up to help resolve critical socio-economic challenges of Jamaica by means of integrated multidisciplinary research and development programmes.

To-date, ICENS possesses the only research reactor in the Caribbean. Renamed the International Centre for Environmental and Nuclear Sciences (ICENS) in 1994, this was in response to its selection by the Commission of Science and Technology for Sustainable Development in the South (COMSATS) as one of the first ten nodes in the network of Centres of Excellence for research and training in Science and Technology.

The Centre has since grown significantly, having established two additional laboratories that provide complementary chemical analysis and radiation services. It is now recognized as a regional hub for nuclear technology and continues to provide the integrated natural sciences supporting the nation’s agenda for advancement. Among other activities at ICENS, nuclear and other state of the art analytical techniques are being applied to investigate the impacts of elemental soil content and climate change on the environment, also on mankind, biodiversity and animal health, agricultural productivity and food safety and security.

David’s appointment to the Board is for a period of two years.