Governance and Leadership

Sunway University is one of Malaysia’s leading private universities, which, unlike most others, is not-for-profit. It is owned by the charitable Jeffrey Cheah Foundation, which is overseen by an eminent Board of Trustees. 

The University is managed by the Senior Management Group, chaired by the President, Professor Sibrandes Poppema, who works closely with the Provost and other senior officers in the group.

The University is governed by the Board of Directors comprising senior industrialists, academics, civil servants and educationists. The Chairman of the Board is Tan Sri Dato’ Seri Dr Jeffrey Cheah, Founder and Chairman of the Sunway Group of companies and the Chancellor of the University. The Chancellor is the figurehead of the University whose duties are primarily ceremonial. 

The academic governance of the University is through the Senate, which comprises the full professors and the senior academic managers. The powers of the Board and the Senate are described in the University’s Constitution.

The Senior Management Group (SMG)

The Senior Management Group (SMG) of the University comprises the President, the Provost, the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research Engagement and Impact), the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Education), the Deans of Schools, the Director of University Services, the Director of Strategy and Planning, and the Director of Special Projects. The University is also supported by the Shared Services of the Sunway Education Group (SEG) which provide services such as HR, Finance, Student Support and Facilities Management. The SEG Heads of Service also support the SMG in delivering the University’s mission and contributing to the wider University Strategic Management Committee (USMC) in addition to the SMG members.

Please click for the President's Welcoming Address.

Members of the Senior Management Group

Professor Hew Gill
Associate Provost

Professor Mahendhiran Sanggaran Nair
Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research Engagement and Impact)

Professor Matthew James Sansom
Pro Vice-Chancellor (Education)

Professor Lim Weng Marc
Dean, Sunway University Business School

Professor Matthew Marshall
Dean, School of Arts

Professor Serguei Demidenko
Dean, School of Engineering and Technology

Professor Ho Chee Kit
Dean, School of Mathematical Sciences

Professor Marcus L Stephenson
Dean, School of Hospitality and Service Management

Professor Raja Affendi Raja Ali
Dean, School of Medical and Life Sciences

Professor Stephen Hall
Dean, School of Interdisciplinary Studies

Siti Fariza Mohd Dahlan
Director, University Services

Preeti Nair
Director, Strategy and Planning

Other Senior Officers of the Sunway Education Group &
Members of the University Strategic Management Committee (besides SMG members)

Dato' Professor Dr Elizabeth Lee
Chief Executive Officer, Sunway Education Group

Ng Kok Cheng
Chief Financial Officer

Ng Beng Lean
Group Registrar

Betty Lai
Chief Resources Officer

Wong Lei Lei
Director, Marketing

Lim Shui Chin
Director, International Office and Special Projects

Tony Lee
Chief Information Officer

Lee Siok Ping
Director, Student Life

Patrick Joseph McVeigh
Director, Branding and Corporate Communications

Matthijs Van Leeuwen
Chief Innovation Officer of Sunway Berhad & Director of Sunway iLabs

The Board of Directors

The Board of Directors has the overall responsibility for setting the strategic direction of the University and appointing the President, Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive, and other Senior Officers of the University. The Board also oversees the effective financial management of the University and has a key role to play in the selection of individuals for honorary degrees, among other high-level responsibilities.

The Board is chaired by the Chancellor, Tan Sri Dato’ Seri Dr Jeffrey Cheah, the Founder and Chairman of Sunway Group. The Chancellor presides at the University’s Graduation Ceremonies and on other official occasions. He is supported in his ceremonial duties by four Pro-Chancellors who are also Board members.

Please click for the Chancellor’s Welcome Message.

Members of the Board of Directors

Tan Sri Dato' Seri Dr Jeffrey Cheah, AO
Founder and Chairman, Sunway Group

Professor Tan Sri Dato’ Dr Lin See Yan
Former Deputy Governor, Bank Negara Malaysia

Dato' Sri Idris Jala
President and CEO, Pemandu Associates Sdn Bhd

Tan Sri Dato' (Dr) Chew Chee Kin
President, Sunway Group

Tan Sri Datuk Seri Razman Hashim
Deputy Chairman, Sunway Group

Dato' Dr Lee Weng Keng
CEO, Education and Healthcare, Sunway Group

Dato' Professor Dr Elizabeth Lee
Chief Executive Officer, Sunway Education Group

Professor Sibrandes Poppema
President of Sunway University

Professor Graeme Wilkinson
Tan Sri Jeffrey Cheah Distinguished Professor and Adviser to the President

Professor Jarlath Ronayne, AM
Tan Sri Jeffrey Cheah Distinguished Professor

Sarena Cheah Yean Tih
Executive Director, Sunway Group

Philip Yeo Liat Kok
Chairman of Economic Development Innovations Singapore, and Accuron Technologies


Share This Page