Premier Digital Tech University 2019-2021

Sunway University’s commitment and focus towards developing digital ready graduates was reaffirmed with the latest Premier Digital Tech University award (2019-2021). Retaining the status since 2017, the Premier Digital Tech Institutions initiative is a jointly developed award by the Ministry of Higher Education Malaysia and Malaysia Digital Economy Corporation (MDEC), to produce top talents and future leaders not only in digital tech, but other industries such as manufacturing and agriculture.


The Premier Digital Tech Institutions provide an optimum ecosystem to prepare graduates to meet industry expectations. Institutions awarded with the Premier Digital Tech Institutions recognition had to undergo a range of meticulous assessment processes to ensure they provide industry relevant tech education and facilities. By receiving the recognition, these institutions act as benchmarks for others and serve as an easily identifiable badge of quality for aspiring digital tech students.

The Premier Digital Tech Institutions initiative is strongly supported by the industry, featuring eight strategic industry partners, namely Amazon Web Services, CISCO, Intel, JobStreet, Microsoft, Oracle Academy, RunCloud and SAS. This will enable Sunway University students to acquire key knowledge and skills relevant to the industry directly from leading technology companies, ensuring that they will be industry ready upon graduation.

Present to receive the award at the Malaysian Global Innovation and Creativity Centre (MaGIC) was Dr Elizabeth Lee (Chief Executive Officer, Sunway Education Group) and witnessed by Prof. Graeme Wilkinson (Vice-Chancellor, Sunway University), Prof. Serge Demidenko (Dean, School of Science and Technology, Sunway University), Assoc. Prof. Dr Lau Sian Lun (Associate Dean & Head, Department of Computing & Information Systems, Sunway University) and Patrick McVeigh (Director of Branding, Sunway Education Group).