You are here

Grant- Winning Academics from Department of Psychology Strikes Again!

Grant- Winning Academics from Department of Psychology Strikes Again!

It is with great pleasure that we announce that Dr. Michelle Lee of the Department of Psychology has secured research funds from the Asian Office of Aerospace Research and Development (AOARD) for a one-year project entitled, “The Origin of Trust within Organization: A Multilevel Perspective”. Dr. Lee and her co-investigators from Sunway University, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Lin Mei-Hua and Senior Lecturer Dr. Priyadarshini Moharkonda Srinivasan, as well as their collaborator from Lancaster University, Dr. Stacey Conchie were awarded USD52,000 (~MYR 220,000) for their project that runs from September 2017 to September 2018.

Associate Professor Dr. Lin Mei-Hua, Dr. Michelle Lee and Dr. Priyadarshini M. Srinivasan

This precedes previous grants on trust studies obtained by Dr Lin and Dr. Michelle Lee in 2015 worth USD73,000 (MYR317,000), as well as Dr Lin in 2010 worth USD146,000 (RM409,000) from the same agency. The 2015 grant also was also the largest single grant awarded at Sunway University in that year. Their research has produced deeper understanding of cross-national differences in trust and trustworthiness, and the complexity of trust and mistrust in organisations. The most recent findings from the research were presented during the Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR)’s 2017 Trust and Influence Program Review at the U.S. Air Force Academy in in Colorado Springs, US, and the 711th Human Performance Wing, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, in Dayton, Ohio, US in June 2017.
Specializing in multilevel analysis, Dr. Michelle Lee, together with Dr. Lin and Dr. Priya will further expand the current research on trust by looking at trust from three perspectives: Leadership, team, and individual. Collaboration with Lancaster University would assist in producing highly ranked journal articles in trust literature, further strengthening the existing relationship with Lancaster University.


Share Us